Ian Fleming


28 May 1908


Mayfair, London, England, UK


Ian Lancaster Fleming


Born into a wealthy and influential English family, Ian Fleming spent his early years attending top British schools such as Eton and Sandhurst military academy. He took to writing while schooling in Kitzbuhel, Austria, and upon failing the entrance requirements for Foreign Service joined the news agency Reuters as a journalist -- winning the respect of his peers for his coverage of a "show trial" in Russia of several Royal Engineers on espionage charges. Fleming briefly worked in the financial sector for the family bank, but just prior to the Second World War, was recruited into British Naval Intelligence where he excelled, shortly achieving the rank of Commander. When the war ended, Fleming retired to Jamaica where he built a house called "Goldeneye," took up writing full-time and created the character that would make him famous -- British Secret Service agent James Bond, in a novel called "Casino Royale." Fleming spent the rest of his life writing and traveling the world, but as his Bond character reached new heights of popularity on movie screens, Fleming was in ailing health. He died of a heart attack (his second) in England in August 1964 at the age of 56.

Actor ( 6 credits )

Everything or Nothing (2012) Himself (archive footage)
Faulks on Fiction (2011)  Himself (1 episode, 2011)
The Last Days of World War II (2005)  Himself - Former British Intelligence Officer / ... (a
The True Story (2003)  Himself (archive footage) (1 episode, 2008)
Biography (1987)  Himself (2 episodes, 2006)
Explorations (1956)  Himself (1 episode, 1964)

Writer ( 36 credits )

Risque (2014) (characters) (uncredited)
Sketch Juice (2014) (unknown episodes)
Skyfall (2012)
007 - Hue Bond: Vive y Deja Chifar (2011)
99 Cent Bond (2009) (characters) (uncredited)
Quantum of Solace (2008)
Allkopi Royale (2006)
Casino Royale (2006)
Die Another Day (2002) (characters)
Goldenrock (1999) (characters) (uncredited)
The World Is Not Enough (1999) (screenplay)
Tomorrow Never Dies (1997)
GoldenEye (1995) (characters)
Licence to Kill (1989)
The Living Daylights (1987)
A View to a Kill (1985)
Never Say Never Again (1983) (based on an original story by)
Octopussy (1983)
For Your Eyes Only (1981)
Moonraker (1979)
The Spy Who Loved Me (1977)
The Man with the Golden Gun (1974)
Live and Let Die (1973)
Diamonds Are Forever (1971)
On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1969) (screenplay)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1968) (novel) &
You Only Live Twice (1967) (screenplay)
Casino Royale (1967)
The Poppy Is Also a Flower (1966)
Thunderball (1965) (original story) &
Goldfinger (1964)
From Russia with Love (1963) (adaptation)
Dr. No (1962)
Climax! (1954) (1 episode, 1954)
Spectre (0) (characters)
Bond 25 (0) (characters)